Moving from Capawesome Cloud
· Capawesome Cloud Live Updates
Capawesome Cloud signs bundles with an RSA key pair too, so the release flow will feel familiar. Don't reuse the old key: make a new pair for Native Update, so that each service's bundles can only ever verify against its own key.
If you host bundles on your own CDN through Capawesome and want to keep that shape, read Backend overview first. On Native Update that means running your own server against the API contract, which is more work than a storage setting.
1. Add the plugin and a key
yarn add native-update
npx cap sync
npx native-update keys generate --type rsa --size 4096
Requirements are on the installation page. Create your app on the dashboard and copy its API key.
2. Swap the live update calls
Take the Capawesome live update calls out of your boot code and follow the Quick Start. The two calls that matter:
await NativeUpdate.notifyAppReady();
const result = await NativeUpdate.sync();
Your other Capawesome plugins are unaffected. If you use its App Update or App Review plugins as well, that page covers those.
3. Recreate your release tracks
Dev, staging, production and any customer tracks become channels. Rollouts start at the percentage you pass per release.
4. Ship the store build, then release
The old plugin comes out in one store build. After that:
npx native-update deploy ./dist --app com.example.app --rollout 5 --wait
Set up the token and the CLI in CI first. Rollback is per release, per channel.
The facts, dated
Capawesome Cloud Live Updates prices
| Plan | Price | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 a month | $90 yearly; 1K MAU, 100 GB transfer | Source |
| Professional | $29 a month | $290 yearly; 10K MAU, 1 TB | Source |
| Team | $79 a month | $790 yearly; 50K MAU, 3 TB | Source |
| Business | $249 a month | $2,490 yearly; 250K MAU, 10 TB | Source |
| Enterprise | No price listed | Quote only | Source |
Native Update prices
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month, 3 seats minimum | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member |
Feature by feature
| Feature | Capawesome Cloud Live Updates | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Delta updates | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | Partly · Source | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Yes · Source | Yes |
| React Native apps | No · Source | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | No · Source | No |
| Free plan | No · Source | Yes |