Skip to main content

Shorebird and Native Update

· Shorebird

Shorebird patches compiled Dart in Flutter apps. A web-bundle updater like ours can't do that, because a Capacitor bundle is HTML, CSS and JavaScript and a Flutter release isn't.

What this means for you​

Native Update serves Capacitor only today. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet, so there's no migration to walk through and we won't pretend otherwise.

Your current app stays where it is. This page is useful in one case: your next app, or a rewrite, is Capacitor. Then start with Installation, ship your first update, and read how signing works.

The facts, dated​

Shorebird prices

PlanPriceTermsSource
Hobby$05,000 patch installs/monthSource
Pro$20 a month$240 billed yearly; 50,000 patch installs/month, $1 per 2,500 overSource
Business$400 a month$4,800 billed yearly; 1,000,000 patch installs/monthSource
EnterpriseNo price listedQuote onlySource

Native Update prices

PlanPriceTerms
Free$030 apps, 5,000 monthly active users
Pro$9.99 a monthUnlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users
Team$8.99 per seat a month, 3 seats minimumUnlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member

Feature by feature

FeatureShorebirdNative Update
Over-the-air web bundle updatesYes · SourceYes
Signed bundles, verified on the deviceYes · SourceYes
Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to startPartly · SourceYes
Roll back from the dashboard or CLIYes · SourceYes
Rollout to a percentage of devicesPartly · SourceYes
Channels (development, staging, production)Yes · SourceYes
Delta updatesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Your own server or self-hostingNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app store update flowNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app review promptNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Background update checksNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
CLI plus HTTP management APIPartly · SourceYes
Capacitor appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
React Native appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Flutter appsYes · SourceNo
Native Android and iOS appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Free planYes · SourceYes