Skip to main content

Microsoft code-push-server and Native Update

· Microsoft code-push-server

Microsoft retired hosted App Center CodePush on March 31, 2025, and archived this standalone server on May 20, 2025. It still runs, and it's free, but the repository is read-only.

If your app is React Native​

Native Update serves Capacitor only today. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet, so we can't take this app. The list has services that say they serve React Native.

If your app is Capacitor or Cordova​

This one is a real move, and it has its own guide: Migrate from CodePush maps each CodePush call and walks through running both side by side.

The facts, dated​

Microsoft code-push-server prices

PlanPriceTermsSource
Self-hosted$0MIT; repository archived 2025-05-20; hosted App Center CodePush retired 2025-03-31Source

Native Update prices

PlanPriceTerms
Free$030 apps, 5,000 monthly active users
Pro$9.99 a monthUnlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users
Team$8.99 per seat a month, 3 seats minimumUnlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member

Feature by feature

FeatureMicrosoft code-push-serverNative Update
Over-the-air web bundle updatesYes · SourceYes
Signed bundles, verified on the deviceNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to startNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Roll back from the dashboard or CLINot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Rollout to a percentage of devicesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Channels (development, staging, production)Not stated on the pages we checkedYes
Delta updatesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Your own server or self-hostingYes · SourceYes
In-app store update flowNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app review promptNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Background update checksNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
CLI plus HTTP management APINot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Capacitor appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
React Native appsYes · SourceNo
Flutter appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Native Android and iOS appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Free planYes · SourceYes