Codemagic Patch and Native Update
Codemagic Patch suits a React Native team already building on Codemagic. It comes hosted or as a Docker Compose install you run yourself.
What this means for you
Native Update serves Capacitor only today. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet, so there's no migration to walk through and we won't pretend otherwise.
Your current app stays where it is. This page is useful in one case: your next app, or a rewrite, is Capacitor. Then start with Installation, ship your first update, and read how signing works.
The facts, dated
Codemagic Patch prices
| Plan | Price | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hosted Patch | $0 | first 100K MAU free, then $99/month per additional 100K MAU | Source |
| Self-hosted | No price listed | Quote only; price not stated on the Patch page | Source |
Native Update prices
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month, 3 seats minimum | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member |
Feature by feature
| Feature | Codemagic Patch | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Partly · Source | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | Yes · Source | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Partly · Source | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | Yes · Source | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | Yes · Source | Yes |