EAS Update and Native Update
EAS Update ships updates to React Native apps built with expo-updates, and its branches, channels and rollbacks are wired into the Expo toolchain you already build with. If your app is on Expo, that's the right tool.
What this means for you
Native Update serves Capacitor only today. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet, so there's no migration to walk through and we won't pretend otherwise.
Your current app stays where it is. This page is useful in one case: your next app, or a rewrite, is Capacitor. Then start with Installation, ship your first update, and read how signing works.
The facts, dated
Expo EAS Update prices
| Plan | Price | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1,000 MAU included | Source |
| Starter | $19 a month | plus usage; 3,000 MAU included, then $0.005 per MAU tiered down | Source |
| Production | $199 a month | plus usage; 50,000 MAU included | Source |
| Enterprise | No price listed | Quote only | Source |
Native Update prices
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month, 3 seats minimum | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member |
Feature by feature
| Feature | Expo EAS Update | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Partly · Source | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | Yes · Source | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | Yes · Source | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | Yes · Source | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | Yes · Source | Yes |