Skip to main content

Hot Updater and Native Update

· Hot Updater

Hot Updater runs the update backend on your own cloud account, with no vendor in the path. Its users pay their own cloud bills and run it themselves.

What this means for you​

Native Update serves Capacitor only today. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet, so there's no migration to walk through and we won't pretend otherwise.

Your current app stays where it is. This page is useful in one case: your next app, or a rewrite, is Capacitor. Then start with Installation, ship your first update, and read how signing works.

The facts, dated​

Hot Updater prices

PlanPriceTermsSource
Self-hosted$0MIT license with a condition for hosted resale; you pay your own cloud billsSource

Native Update prices

PlanPriceTerms
Free$030 apps, 5,000 monthly active users
Pro$9.99 a monthUnlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users
Team$8.99 per seat a month, 3 seats minimumUnlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member

Feature by feature

FeatureHot UpdaterNative Update
Over-the-air web bundle updatesYes · SourceYes
Signed bundles, verified on the deviceNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to startNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Roll back from the dashboard or CLIYes · SourceYes
Rollout to a percentage of devicesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Channels (development, staging, production)Not stated on the pages we checkedYes
Delta updatesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Your own server or self-hostingYes · SourceYes
In-app store update flowNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app review promptNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Background update checksNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
CLI plus HTTP management APINot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Capacitor appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
React Native appsYes · SourceNo
Flutter appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Native Android and iOS appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Free planYes · SourceYes